Shelfie 1: December 9, 2012: Shared Shelves: a Holiday Card

Standard

I think my photoblogging days might be coming to a close.  For a year I posted a photo or happy thought almost every day at Nine Pages Every Day.  I haven’t yet decided whether I will continue that blog or save my pictures for myself and my Facebook friends and my records of something beautiful everyday to a Word document I’ve been adding to since January 31 (and using since then to generate posts for Nine Pages Every Day).

That being said, I like photography, and I like sharing my photography, however mediocre it might be, because photographs are a captured instant, a captured space, a condensed memory.

But you’re here for books and storytelling.

Today, I can’t provide you any fresh book reviews; I haven’t any I could get done before midnight.  There are–you know–many weeks like this.  More than I care for there to be.

So I’m proposing this:  When I can’t provide you with new bookish text, let me provide you with bookish photography.  I’ve combed back through my photos, a set in this library ranging back to early October 2012, and found all the shelfies I’ve taken (before I knew the word shelfie).

Let me share with you these snapshots of my life, this story of my life as captured by books.

I’m guessing if you’re here, you probably like looking at books and photographs of books too.  And you probably understand the insight that a shelfie can offer.

dscn4482

Save

Save

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

6 responses »

  1. I like the idea of a “Shelfie”. Pretty funny. Have you come across other photography blogs on wordpress? I follow a couple. I’m not sure if there are a lot, but I’m sure you could search for photography tags and find them to follow.

Leave a Reply

