Challenge: The Murder Plot

Standard

I took this challenge from Gwen at Apprentice, Never Master.

By the rules of this tag, I’ve just been murdered.

Seeing as I’m the one breaking the news to you, I can only assume that I’m a ghost.

Time to figure out what happened to me.

Step 1: Choose six red, black, or white books from your shelves. Just to set the mood.

I wasn’t able to choose six. I pulled all of the red and black books together and put them ALL in a hat/Tupperware container and let fate decide the books that I would use.

Oops. My cat snuck into the shot.

My cat refused to leave the shot, but she’s nicely color coordinated with these covers.

Step 2: Draw the names of those six books out of a hat in random order then answer the following questions:

Open your first book to a random page. Wherever this scene takes place is where you were murdered.

how-to-train-your-dragon-cover

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell.

Apparently, I am murdered while climbing up the slippery, snowy Wild Dragon Cliff on the Isle of Berk, where the dragons hibernate for the winter in four caves up the cliff-side positioned so that they look roughly in the shape of a skull. Props to my murderer for choosing a place with character and the proper atmosphere—and also somewhere where my murder will look like an accident.

From your second book, choose an object that is important to the plot. There, you have the murder weapon.

13497A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 4: A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin.

Well, there is no shortage of weapons in this book—though of all of the books in this series, this one has the least legendary weapons—no Jon and no Stannis in a POV role, so neither of their swords is here. Maybe Brienne’s Oathkeeper is the most important of the weapons in this book. Which, you know, is a nice sword. Valyrian steel.  And made from Ice, which had a good history of its own.

Open your third book to a random page. The character whose name you see first is the lead investigator on your murder. How is s/he doing?

BronteJane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

Mr. Rochester is investigating my murder. It’s early in the book yet. He’s a crafty character. He’s good at keeping secrets. He’s got a fair bit of money that could be used to further the investigation. But he’s also moody and distracted by troubles of his own. All in all, I think he’s probably doing an all right job—at least as long as he can keep his mind away from his own attic.

Open your fourth book to a random page. The character whose name you see first is the prime suspect. Feel free to invent a motive based on the plot, or what you think you might have done to tick this particular character off.

4556058Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 5: The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan.

Hades. Hades is the prime suspect. Typical. Everyone blame Hades. The Lord of the Underworld wants more dead people cluttering up his kingdom. He wants more work.

Open your fifth book to a random page. The character whose name you see first is also a suspect. There’s never just one.

15881Year 2: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling.

Professor McGonagall is a suspect. Really? Because… what? Because she’s a witch? Oh wait. Mr. Rochester is investigating. Maybe she reminds him of his crazy wife.

Open your sixth book to a random page. The character whose name you see first… well, take a good look at that one. It’s the real killer. Is s/he going to get away with it?

344623Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton.

Dignified Londaver killed me. Yes, he’ll get away with it. He’s a Dignified, rich. And he’s a dragon.

So this came back around full circle. I was murdered by a dragon on Wild Dragon Cliffs. And NO ONE saw this? Maybe this was end-of-story Mr. Rochester, blind and unable to see the great beast swooping on me, only able to hear his scream. I don’t know why Londaver needed Oathkeeper to kill me. I think he’s better armed without it. But maybe it’s only honorable to kill a Yarge with a weapon that a Yarge can match.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

