Book Reviews: July and August 2015 Picture Book Roundup

Standard

9781419705441_s3Library Mouse: Home Sweet Home by Daniel Kirk. First published 2013 by Abrams.

Apparently Chick-fil-A hands out glossy, magazine-like paperbacks instead of toys with its kids meals? I found a copy of this book discarded and abandoned on the floor, and couldn’t bring myself to just toss it. Library Mouse is a series, and this book is not the first in the series. It was obvious to me that Sam and Sarah’s friendship and backstories have been laid out elsewhere. Sam and Sarah are precious, opposite gendered, platonic friends, something I think lacking too often in literature today (though less often in picture books than in books for older children). The text was a little too focused on education for my tastes, Kirk slipping definitions awkwardly into the friends’ conversations. Those definitions could I think have been given less awkwardly if the wording had seemed more colloquial than textbook or if related words had not been shoved into the conversations: i.e. after using the word and Sarah questioning it, Sam providing the definition of architecture is natural; his defining architect subsequently is not. That being said, I think education was one of Kirk’s end-goals. I liked but wasn’t enamored of the illustrations, which were bright and cleverly detailed, but the characters’ expressions did not translate as well as I would like.

***

23507512If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don’t! by Elise Parsley. Little, Brown-Hachette, 2015. Intended audience: Grades PreK-3.

This was a story hour book, and a fairly successful one, though my audience was too young to have much experience at school, and went to a school without show-and-tell to give the book context. With something of an If You Give a Mouse a Cookie pattern, Magnolia tries to keep her alligator from getting her in trouble with the teacher, but his drawings make her laugh during class, and when he gets hungry, he takes a bite out of one child’s thankfully generous afro, and when Magnolia tries to keep his teeth occupied, the bubble gum ends up everywhere. This was a fairly memorable picture book, with humorous text and humorous illustrations. The core text stands alone fairly well from the illustrations (which is helpful for aloud readings), but there is text in the illustrations for expanded readings. It was a good book to introduce some of the rules of classroom behavior and offers some compelling reasons for those rules, making it an especially good classroom read.

****

9780385391757Busy Penguins by John Schindel and photographs by Jonathan Chester. Knopf-Penguin Random, 2000. Intended audience: Ages 0-3.

I was fairly unimpressed by this board book. It consists of photographs of penguins in their natural habitat, and two word sentences describing their actions, including a very memorable picture of a penguin pooping, which I don’t think I really needed rattling around in my mind. I think there are a fair few parents who will feel the same way. It’s possible that this primer might appeal to penguin-lovers, but I sort of feel that that may be its only market. There are other books by the same author for other animals, but I’ve not read them yet nor do I know if they suffer from the similarly memorable photographs.

*

9780312645212The Crown on Your Head by Nancy Tillman. Feiwel & Friends-Macmillan, 2014. First published 2011. Intended audience: Ages 4-8, Grades PreK-3.

I frankly have come to expect better of Tillman. Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You gave Tillman a broad canvas. Here Tillman focuses in on the forehead and suggests that there is an aura of individually which invisibly crowns every person’s head. She tries to turn the book into a call for acceptance of others’ unique quirks, personalities, and differences, and I actually think that that’s where the text went wrong for me. In a quick moment, it went from mushy parent-to-child love to almost preachy universal acceptance by all towards all. While I like the message, I feel like Tillman’s handling of it was more of a fumble. Tillman, though, handles the rhyming verse fairly well, and I like the magical realism of her details both in text and in the illustrations. Tillman’s illustration are as always absolutely, mind-boggling stunning: bright, realistic, whimsical, beautiful, the sort of thing I’d hang in a nursery in a moment (and in fact, I could do). As always Tillman is careful to include diverse races and genders in her illustrations, though here, with bright crowns on their heads, the children’s individual features were washed away even more so than is usual in Tillman’s art. The illustrations earn this book that extra half star.

***1/2

These reviews are not endorsed by any one involved in their making.  They are independent, honest reviews by a reader.

Leave a Reply

