Challenge: 777, an Excerpt from my WIP

Standard

Olivia has challenged me to a 777.

The challenge is:

  • Go to your current work in progress
  • Scroll to page 7
  • Count 7 sentences
  • Share the next 7 sentences after that
  • And of course, tag people to do the same. You can even tag 7 people if you want to really get into the number theme.

I’m really enjoying this challenge because it gives me a moment to isolate a section of text that I rarely would isolate and to edit that section as if it were all that would ever be publicly visible.  My story, bless it, is in the middle of a rewrite.  There were sections of this story that I knew needed rewriting, and I could not find the motivation or wherewithal to do so, not after all the hard work of the first and second and other go-arounds.  So my catalyst character, a character of 10+ years’ acquaintance, decided to change genders and necessitate the whole thing.  While I curse her a little, I thank her a lot.

Sadly, the section highlighted by the 777 is a bit of an info dump and has not undergone much transformation.  Maybe it should.  I’d appreciate the critique.

 —

She gave him one last smile and set off.

Veil watched her shuffle down the slope of the hill, looking frail beneath the spiderweb of her shawl. As she faded into the growing twilight and the shadow of the mountains, a fire bloomed in the valley below, leaping quickly toward the deep blue eastern sky to replace the sun as it took its last peek at the world.

Against the flickering of the flames, he could see dark figures, silhouettes that he couldn’t recognize, but he knew that he knew—would know if only he could be closer, if he could see their faces.

From this distance, outcast from the ring of firelight, friends were as hazy as the stranger who had brought Veil to Gerizim. Priscilla had described him to Veil, but he was still no more than a ghost, insubstantial, intangible, and incomplete, as much a mystery as were his parents and their deaths.

He let his hand fall, realizing that he had been worrying the chain of twisted silver that hung around his neck. …

Now, of course, I’m supposed to issue the challenge too.  I know fewer people these days actively working on longer WIP.  (If I am misinformed and you are, in fact, working on a WIP, please correct me and accept the challenge.  If you’re one of those people I’m speaking to, I expect you’ll know it.)

Olivia has already challenged Gwen.  I also challenge Emily at More Than One Page, Eileen at Musings, and Katie at Mountain Hart.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

