Book Reviews: The Best of the Best from 2014

Standard

2014 is now a mistake that I’ll write on checks and thank you cards. I want to highlight the best books I’ve found this year, because a book that can earn five stars deserves some extra recognition and to be easily found by those looking. Here are some completely arbitrary categories to try and make the best of the best even easier to find. I’ll try to stick the books in what I believe is the target audience.

 

TODDLERS-KIDS (AGES 0-8)

Mini Myths: Play Nice, Hercules! by Joan Holub and illustrated by Leslie Patricelli.

Mini Myths: Be Patient, Pandora! by Joan Holub and illustrated by Leslie Patricelli.

The Kiss That Missed by David Melling.

The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch and illustrated by Michael Martchenko.

Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You by Nancy Tillman.

An Elephant and Piggie Book: Waiting Is Not Easy! by Mo Willems.

Penguin and Pinecone by Salina Yoon.

 

MIDDLE GRADE-YOUNG READERS (AGES 8-12)

The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede.

 

TEENS (AGES 13-19)

*

 

ADULTS (AGE 20+)

Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury.

The Kingkiller Chronicles, Day 1: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton.

 

*I’m looking over the books that I read this year, and I simply didn’t read a lot of teen books, two that I would call targeting teens (though even then I waver and say one could be more appropriately middle grade and the other might be adult): The Ascendance Trilogy, Book 2: The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen and The Bane Chronicles, Book 1: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. Of the two, The Runaway King was heaps better.

Let’s take a moment to recognize and laugh at the fact that not a one of these best of the best could be qualified as realistic fiction. Another point for fantasy literature.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

