Challenge: Legal Theft: Goodbye (355 words)

Standard

Turning away from the door, Kadelyn heard Noach shift as well, and realized he was watching her.  Kadelyn didn’t want to look at him.  She remained by the door with her head bowed.  He didn’t say anything.  She did not hear another whisper of linen that would have meant that he was approaching—or, she supposed, it could mean that he was moving away.  He did neither.  And she didn’t move either.

“It’s done,” she said because he deserved a report.

Still he didn’t move, didn’t say anything.

“You shouldn’t be here,” she said.

“We could have figured it out,” he groaned.

“This was easier.”

“Easier?” he yelped.

Kadelyn flinched.  “Noach, please.”  The shout could attract one of the guards.  She couldn’t stay now.  She had to go.  Whatever future they could have had together now was—

“Kadelyn,” he groaned.  “Do I really mean so little to you?”

“Noach, it’s not that—”

His boots were thunder on the floorboards.  Kadelyn covered her face with a gasp as the sting struck her behind her eyes.  She bit her lip as his hands snared her arms.  “Kadelyn, I love you.  I still love you.”

“And I love you,” she rasped.

“But you gave me up.”

She lowered her hands to meet his through the wash of tears.  “I did what I had to.  Noach, I have to go.”

“I can’t let you,” he complained.

“They’ll kill me if they find me.”

“Do they know it was you?” he worried.

“They will.  I can’t hide this forever.”

“Then,” Noach said, and he took a shaking breath.  “We’ll run.”

“No,” Kadelyn argued.  “I run.”

“You can’t run alone.  You can’t hunt, can’t talk your way into a drink, haven’t got a horse.”

“You haven’t got a horse either.”

“You’ve committed treason.  You think we’re above horse thievery?”

“That’s different.”

“If the theft of one horse is what it takes to be with you, Kadelyn, I’ll steal the king’s horse.”

Kadelyn covered a smile with a dainty hand.  “The king,” she reminded him, “won’t miss it.”

I’m a thief!  I stole this first line from “Her Vice” written by Gwen at Apprentice, Never Master.  I admit that I knew that these two were a couple.  That might’ve influenced my story a bit.  Plus it’s Valentine’s Day!  Looks like I just missed the midnight deadline.  Somehow I still ended up at rebellion and coup.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

