Challenge: TMI: Book Edition

Standard

Gwen at Apprentice, Never Master tagged me in her “Book Blogger TMI Tag” the other day.  If you happen to be a face-to-face friend of mine, then you might know that I really enjoy these Internet surveys, and since this one is geared specifically towards literature and therefore will not seem entirely out of place amid the reviews and fiction on my blog, I decided to answer her call.

How old are you?  
I’m ignoring that pie chart.

What book are you reading?  
Do you mean “books”?  Right now: Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl and Amber Cavalier Spiler’s The Secret of Blackwatch, which I recently won from Goodreads.  Also I’ve put Diane Duane’s The Door Into Fire on the back burner.  I actually forgot that I had been reading Cassandra Clare’s What Really Happened in Peru.  I guess I should get back to that one. I was too far into it to give it up or start it again later.

What are you wearing?  
Pajamas, a sweatshirt, a cloak, and slippers.  I hate the cold.  And today it wasn’t even cold.

OTP?
  Interestingly, in answering these questions I’ve realized that I feel that an OTP pairing has to be under some threat of separation for me them to earn that label.  If their separation is an impossibility then why would I get riled up about its possibility?  I say this because I am later asked about my favorite character and there is one whom I would not even separate from his canon partner if it would benefit myself.  To do so would crush him too fully.  So maybe my true OTP is Cammon and Amalie from Sharon Shinn’s Twelve Houses Series, but my first thought was of Rick Riordan’s Percabeth and then, given recent controversy, Rowling’s Romione.

That being said, if it were written well enough, I think that I can forgive most break ups and never-happeneds.  I don’t think Rick will in any way try to separate Perceabeth now, but I think it’s possible that he could write it well enough that I would allow it if he did.

Blogger or WordPress?
  I’m on WordPress so WordPress.

Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?  
Right now it is winter.  In winter, staying in wins all the time.  I would probably not leave this apartment if I didn’t have to.  In the summer, outside and hiking or outside and reading or outside and swing sets or outside and on horseback when someone will let me borrow their horse.

What is the last book you read?  Knight Time by Jane Clarke.

What is the book you’re going to read next?
  That’s a difficult one.  I don’t know.  It depends on what mood I’m in when I next decide to pick up a book.  Probably it will be my Bible because I’ve been trying to read a chapter before bed each night.

Ebooks – yes or no?
  I did a full review on my first experience with an e-reader a while back.  I actually have a really difficult time making myself want to read e-books.  If I’m looking at a screen, my brain is not usually thinking reading.  It’s usually thinking Facebook or working on my own book or Netflix.  I’ve not gotten over that yet.

Where do you prefer to read?  
Anywhere?  I can read anywhere?  It’d be a very sunny place.  There’d be tea.  There’d probably be chocolate.  There might be a cat or a pony with me.  I would be lying upon something that is eternally comfortable so my reading wouldn’t be interrupted by having to shift my body (no such substance has yet to cross my path, but I am open to suggestions).

Who is the last person you tweeted?  
I actually don’t tweet.

Whose blog did you look at last?  Kate at More Than 1/2 Mad also answered Gwen’s call to complete one of these surveys.

 Who is your favorite blogger?  
You want me to choose?

Who is your favorite book-tuber?  
Is that like a Youtuber who reviews books?  That’s a thing?  I don’t know that I’ve seen any of those.  I’ve seen Charlie reads TwilightNeil Gaiman read me Green Eggs and Ham this morning.  Sometimes John Green tells me about his books.

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?  Unfortunately this happens a lot because I work at a bookstore.  People tell me that they really don’t read much.  I’ve gotten to the point that I tell them that that’s fine and I move on with life, but it still hurts a little.

Who is the last author you spoke to?
  Neil Sagebiel who wrote The Longest Shot: Jack Fleck, Ben Hogan, and Pro Golf’s Greatest Upset at the 1955 U.S. Open.  He stopped in the store and asked if he could sign our stock.  It wasn’t a long conversation.  I fetched a manager for him.

Who is the last person you texted?  
I have no idea.  Someone who thought I was “Sean.”  I texted them back to tell them that I was not Sean.

Who is your all-time favorite book character?  
My dear, sweet Cammon from Sharon Shinn’s Twelve Houses Series came to mind first, because if I could marry any fictional character and I didn’t have to kill his canon mate to do so, Cammon and I would spend a very happy forever together.  Is that how you intended “favorite”?

United Kingdom YA or United States YA?  
I’ve actually liked a lot more UK YA than US YA.  My childhood was so much UK YA that it’s affected my syntax and vocabulary.  There’s nothing inherently better about UK YA than US YA.  I think it just happened.  I think at the time that I was of the age to actually be reading YA literature, there may have been more UK YA writers than US YA writers—or at least more UK writers than US writers that my local librarian thought that I would enjoy.  My current favorite YA writer is American (Rick Riordan), and the next two are Scottish (JKR and Cressida Cowell), then there’s another American (Diane Duane).

What is your preferred drink whilst reading?
  Tea.  Black.  (I missed a gif opportunity!)

If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?  
…That is such a weird question.  If I hated reading, I would be so different that I cannot possibly imagine who or what I would be and what I would enjoy instead.

How many bookshelves / bookcases do you have?  
Too few.  Between my roommate and I, there’s one in my room, a small one with only three shelves, then she has a similar one beside her desk and the desk has books lined up atop it.  There’re two more in the living room, one narrow one with three shelves that we rescued from a dumpster and a long one with only two shelves that holds all of the nonfiction and reference books.  Then in our library we have another five cases and about half of my books are stacked on the floor and waiting the acquisition of another case.  Oh! and cookbooks live on the shelf of the pass through between the kitchen and the living room.

If you had the choice to meet all of your favorite book bloggers or all of your favorite authors, which would you pick? You can only pick one.  
Authors.  Sorry, guys.  There are so many I just need to thank and hope that they’ll understand all that that thank you implies.  And I want to know more about their stories and the characters, what couldn’t fit between the bindings, and I want to know how they did it.

Insta-love: yes or no?
  Thank you, Gwen, for that definition.  Kids these days with their newfangled vocabulary.  I’ve become rather jaded towards love of late (but hoping to be rescued from the waning sentimentality).  I might not be the one to ask about this.  Ask me later.

Favorite author?  
Right now it’s Rick Riordan because I’ve not read any book of his that I dislike and I can’t remember ever thinking “I wouldn’t have done that,” or “this bit it terrible.”  This also holds true for Cressida Cowell and Mo Willems.  But I’ve read 14 of Rick’s books and a short story to Cressida’s 5.  I’ve read 21 of Mo’s books, I think, but those 21 books probably don’t add up to a full book of Rick’s as far as text is concerned.  Riordan’s are just more lengthy and meaty than Mo’s by virtue of the ages for which they’re writing.

What is the number-one book on your wishlist?
  Can I choose the encyclopedia that JKR has been promising us?

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?  
I’ve found that I prefer writing male protagonists, which I think is both a hanger-on from the bygone days when men ruled the writers’ profession and then the genre of fantasy to the exclusion of women.  Also, in writing about male protagonists I’m writing about the unfamiliar and making them familiar.  As far as reading goes, so long as the protagonists is well written and makes me empathize with him or her and preferably has some quality that I enjoy (often, ironically, either being super-nice and peaceable—the unlikely hero—or super snarky) I could care less whether they are male or female.  I have more male favorites because, I think, of that same hanger-on that so many of us—now and earlier in the history of literature—struggle with.  A quick browse through the bookshelf in my room (which is where I keep my favorites and the books that intend to read the soonest) reveals mostly male heroes, bar Cimorene from Patricia C. Wrede’s Enchanted Forest Chronicles and Nita from Diane Duane’s Young Wizards Series, who shares her spotlight with the male Kit, though arguably, Nita is the primary POV character.

Which is your favourite book-to-film adaption?  
(Nice to see that this question has come from across the pond.)

The answer to this question is changing daily if not hourly.  Currently it waffles between:

Ever After, an adaptation of the fairy tale “Cinderella,” which fleshes out the story, places it within a historical context, includes a powerful heroine who loves books with a wonderful passion, and contains such wonderful lines as:

How to Train a Dragon, which is absolutely nothing like the book series that I’ve grown to love with equal enthusiasm but keeps the same hero that I love in the series and the same themes that make the books mean something to me.  It is a succinct retelling (as far as I’ve yet read) of the whole of the series (as yet unfinished), though admittedly, I’m really hoping that the upcoming sequel gives me Alvin the Poor-But-Honest Farmer.

What is the last song you listened to?  Currently I’m listening to “Oh Mighty Zeus” from Disney’s Hercules soundtrack.  My iTunes is almost constantly on shuffle.  Now it’s switched to the “Entr’acte” from Once Upon A Mattress.

Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?  I enjoy well-written reviews whether negative or positive.  Usually I’m looking to glean some information from them, and what I hate most are the “good book,” “this book was awesome,” “sooooo good,” “ugh.  awful,” “don’t bother” type of reviews.  Those tell me nothing except that you enjoyed or hated the book.  I want to know why.

Who are you going to tag?
  Four people?  Is that the magic number requested?  Well:

  1. Kid from The Gate In The Wood because she may enjoy it
  2. Emily from More Than One Page because I think she may enjoy this greatly and she is always issuing challenges which I accept; it’s time to repay the favor.
  3. Jennifer from TurtleAndRobot.com because I always enjoy her reviews and she is someone I wouldn’t mind getting to know better.
  4. And the writer of Immovable Type, whose input on books I always welcome.

Have fun with the tag or ignore the request, but I hope this sends a few people to your blogs.

Thanks for bearing with me while I enjoyed myself answering survey questions.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

One response »

  1. Pingback: Book Blogger TMI Tag | More Than One Page

Leave a Reply

