Challenge: PerNoEdMo: Day 30: The Finale

Standard

I just completed a full edit!  Two lines over 406 pages and 139,591 words.  Wow.  That feels like such an accomplishment. But the ending leaves me more nonplussed than it used to do.  What should I do?  Do I end it on page 405 with the protagonist’s last scene with his adoptive mother?  I’m not sure that I want to add another scene.  I don’t think that there’s another scene too add.  Hmmm….

For now I let it end where it has.  I want to send it out for peer review.  I think I put a note in the doc and see what readers think.  Because I used to love that ending, and I like that it shows that the characters are discussing the future without the protagonist, making plans for him.  And I like the cyclic beginning and ending with the same character using the same phrase to tell off the protagonist.

I thought of one more change I want to make, but I got home late from work and with a headache, so it will not be made tonight.

Thus, as the clock turns to midnight and I type these last words on this last blog post, does PerNoEdMo November 2013 end.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

