Challenge: PerNoEdMo: Day 19: Bell Pulls?

Standard

Starting day 19 on page 358 of 406.  I’ve entered the patch of the novel where timeline and plot line are both a tad cloudy–and that’s not good.  I really ought to know who knows what when.  And I ought to know why now.  I have edited through page 363.

I have hit a snag.  The most effective base-of-the-mountain-to-top-of-the-mountain communication that I have available are errand boys who are really fast runners.  That seems extremely inefficient and tiring.  I don’t want to wait that long for my antagonist to arrive on the scene for the climax.  He really needs to come quickly, which may actually mean either way that he has to have either conveniently been nearby, on his way there anyway, or have some form of super-fast travel as well as communication.  So how do I summon him using only kinetic energy or the manipulation thereof? (And if I can only use kinetic energy, how do those glowing hands work?)  I am considering a very long bell pull but that too seems inefficient as it would require making and maintaining a very long wire.  Perhaps a vein of something that runs through the mountain and might in some way be manipulated to act as an alarm?

I did determine who (or what group of people, though two of this number have yet to take form or name) would be informing my antagonist that the climax is about to start and that is a significant improvement from what I had this morning, but I will have to continue pondering these other questions tonight and probably tomorrow.

I have 139,307 words.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

