Challenge: PerNoEdMo: Day 12: Magic Defibrillators!

Standard

It’s just barely day 12, but I had the doc opened and thought–what the heck–I’d reread a bit of what I’d written previously to refresh my memory–especially while I have my playlist of songs that remind me of my characters or parts of my story playing on repeat via YouTube.  I’m rereading from page 331 of 407.  A flashback of my protagonist’s nearly wrung tears from me.  This is a good thing.  But at the same time I’m sort of thinking: sweetheart, you’re not the one who just nearly died–I mean, I guess I understand:  Killing or nearly killing someone is a familiar experience for you.  It’s not as close an experience if my rewrite with the new setting works, but I don’t think I can cut that flashback after it’s had this effect on me.

Also, squee!  Two magical people equals one defibrillator!  It is scientifically possible for this scene to work!

Starting this morning’s reread from page 330 of 407.

I have a friend whom I met via Camp NaNoWriMo last June.  He and I have since enjoyed many an hour via Gmail’s chat.  He was kind enough to let me pick his brain this morning while I puzzled my coworker’s question.  I imagine I was quite distracting while he ought to have been working.  Kid for The Gate in the Wood is hearing some more about my frustrations too.  My mother is also a fantastic listener, and talking it all out to her, I think I at least decided the answer to the below:

What do I set alight?  I want to set something alight.  I have been trying all day to figure out what I can set alight for plot’s sake without making it a fire that needs putting out or it will becoming a wildfire.

Most of today was usurped by friends, and I’m all right with that.  I should just start planning for Tuesdays to be low productivity days.  I’m ending today on page 331 of 408 with 139,796 words.  There’s some white space between the new material and the old that still needs editing.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

