Challenge: PerNoEdMo: Day 11: Problem… Solving?

Standard

With a clearer mind, I am rereading again from page 323 of 407.

I have such pretty ideas for where this particular scene should take place–and then discovered that it was missing a crucial feature that I needed for the plot.

Today Kid of The Gate in the Wood was a good sport and listened to and gave me ideas to circumvent this problem.  Thank you, Kid!

Today’s research returns me to injuries surrounding lightning strikes.  Did you know that you are more likely to survive a direct than an indirect lightning strike?  Burns are apparently surprisingly rare, manifesting in less than a third of lightning strike victims.

Gah!  It took me so long to get this scene right originally where the tree limb fell on him and gouged him badly.  Now that I’ve stripped the area of trees, I have to figure out what sort of mendable injuries I can give him through an indirect or direct lightning strike.  Is this really worth it?

Special thanks today also goes to a coworker who covered my 15 minute break.  During that break, I rewrote the above problem scene fresh with no previous work to get in the way, and sketching out the scene, discovered a crucial fact of nature: lightning forks.  I need not only have one strike point.  Problem solved!  I came back and buoyantly told my coworker of my success.  And he asked me one of those questions that writers are blind to and only a reader can spot, flooring me.  I’m still puzzling over the answer.  He also gave me names of all kinds of books for culture research.  So thank you, coworker!

Now I’m home, and I just can’t make myself want to open up the document and chisel away at the original to try and discover a solution to my problem.

At my farthest point today, I had edited to the very bottom of page 331 of 407 and as of right now I have 139,622 words.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

