Challenge: PerNoEdMo: Day 7: Thinking About the Problem Has to Count for Something

Standard

So I’ve gotten into either the really wonderful or really terrible habit of editing after I post these and am supposed to be winding down for bed.

Last night I discovered an inconsistency.  My protagonist’s grandfather begins by trying to force my protagonist to learn how to control fire, then backtracks and says “it’s nearly impossible.  I’m not sure we should try it.  You’ll hurt yourself,” and then the next day is saying, “Okay.  Let’s try it.”  Something here doesn’t fit.  I have to figure out which view I want him to take.  I think it’s going to be the “let’s do it” phase that needs to change because my protagonist learning to control fire has become not only a character building subplot, but a world-building subplot, and–I discovered yesterday when a rewritten scene popped into my head–potentially a plot-building subplot for future books.

I had a good talk with the characters’ godmother this morning.  She helped me see what needs to happen off-screen for Grandfather to get to the “Let’s try it” phase.

When I left for work, I had three candidates for a catalyst for his changed mind.  In the 20-minute drive, they each presented their cases, and one rose victorious above the others.  I’m currently writing this off-screen scene, and it will likely appear at a future point on this blog if I am happy enough with the end product.

So I’ve really done very little editing today within the doc, but I’ve done a lot of thinking about the novel, and that has to count for something, yeah?

Tomorrow’s shift is shorter.  Maybe I’ll get more done.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

