Challenge: PerNoEdMo: Day 1: Doing the Crazy Things So You Won’t Have To (Apparently)

Standard

I worked an early shift this morning and woke at 6:30 a.m. (which is far from usual for me).  Though I had coffee and a travel mug of caffeinated black tea, I’m just not very much good at anything on days when I have such a shift as this.  I got a lot of things done about the apartment that needed to be done:  I replaced my old license plates with the new ones.  I washed the sink-ful of dishes.  I hung some paintings in my room, and I’m really liking the effect.

I procrastinated till fairly late in the day.  Editing began around 8:30 p.m.  I jumped back to page 302 because I looked at page 311 and didn’t feel able to jump back into the story from that point.

Shortly after I started, Kate of More Than ½ Mad messaged me, and we talked NaNo for a little while.  (She is doing a NaNoWriMo this month.)  While talking to her, I was distracted by Pinterest, but she also helped me out with my editing, because something that I said about my plot reminded me of a parody “picture book” that needed sharing.

My tired mind is better at discovering the line edits that need doing than my more wakeful brain.  It discovered once where I used the same verb twice in a sentence, and my tired mind didn’t like that.  It also found a very bad unintentional sexual pun, which I’ve deleted.

Today’s tangent has been to explore how historically a dagger has been attached to a belt.  I found a quite wonderful site for such research.  I discovered that in the early medieval period, daggers would have been hung vertically from the belt by a leather thong, which is attached to the scabbard, I think.  I had been having my characters wear their daggers merely nestled between their bodies and their belts.  And I may still do, but really the thong method only seems so difficult to edit for, and it seems so much more practical.

This devolved into fetching a belt, a blunt kitchen knife, and some gimp and trying to figure out how to best to rig a tie for a sheath to a belt and how to keep it vertical.  It’s not impossible.  It’s not even that difficult.  (Center the knife handle on the gimp.  Wrap the gimp several times around the handle in a criss-cross pattern.  Tie on both sides of the handle.  Use the loose ends of the gimp to create a loop around the belt.  Done.  I based this mostly off the yew knife with scabbard listed here.)  And it’s surprisingly wieldy at my hip; I would have expected it to be more in the way or heavier, in some way more cumbersome.  When you bend over, the handle presses a bit up against me, but not more than enough to remind me its there, and when my shirt hem rides up, the metal’s cold.

The knife does hang vertically, but it's tipped here to show the double knot on its backside.

The knife does hang vertically, but it’s tipped here to show the double knot on its backside.

I’m still pondering whether to have my protagonist walk about with his dagger tied to his belt with a silk tie from his lover.  To have him do so would flaunt his relationship, but I’m not sure that he’d recognize the implications.  I’m leaning towards telling him no.

It’s just past midnight now.  I’m on page 310.

Leave a Reply

