Challenge: NaNoWriMo: PerNoEdMo, Round 2

Standard

November 1: the first day of NaNoWriMo, the Office of Letters and Light‘s challenge to write 50,000 words of a novel in a month (30 days).  With almost exactly 100 pages of my WIP left to edit (at least before the next round of edits and/or peer-reviews), I just cannot sacrifice the month of November to a new project.  I would lose my place, so to speak, in the novel, and I might have to go back a good way before I could find the beginning of the path that I’m currently taking.  As such, I’m doing another (hopefully more successfully blogged) PerNoEdMo (Personal Novel Editing Month) this NaNoWriMo.  My goal is to have all the edits completed by the end of November (midnight November 30)–or at least be ready to print the WIP and do one last read-through before peer-review.  If I get to the printed form in November, all the better.

As of this moment, I’m editing a section between pages 311 and 317 of 412.  It underwent a copy and paste edit.  I moved a scene to earlier within the text, and now I’m editing all the surrounding scenes for the change (on top of all of the usual edits of clarity, character, consistency, punctuation, word choice, et al.).

Good luck, Wrimos (Nanites?)!  I’ll be supporting you, and I hope you’ll support me too as I race the calendar alongside of you.

Leave a Reply

