And the Winners Are…

Standard

Welcome to May!  For those not interested in NaNoWriMo, thank you for hanging in there through April.  Now it’s back to business as usual.  But before I return to business as usual, there’s one bit of business that needs addressing:

While I was NaNoing, I was nominated by H. J. Lockman for a Sunshine Blogger Award.  Gwen at Apprentice, Never Master nominated me for my first Sunshine Blogger Award ages ago, and while I started a response then, I never finished it, partially because I actually do not spend much time reading others’ blogs.  I will stumble across them when looking for answers to individual queries, but there are only a few I that I follow and fewer whose nearly every article I will read.  But since January, I have started reading more blogs with more regularity and now I hope I have enough that I read that I can recommend and reward with a sunny gerbera daisy.  Now, honestly, I read too many blogs with regularity to want to raise any of them above the others.

sunshine-award11

Between January and April, the formatting of The Sunshine Blogger Award post seems to have changed somewhat.  Well, cruel though it is (to myself) the best thing to do here seems to be to combine the two posts, so here it goes:

The Questions:

  • My Favorite Color: Purple
  • My Favorite Animal: Is probably still the pony.
  • My Favorite Number: 12
  • My Favorite Non-Alcoholic Beverage: Good black tea, black.
  • My Favorite Alcohol Beverage: Strongbow hard cider.
  • Facebook or Twitter: Facebook
  • My Passions: Passion is a word I have a hard time with.  What is passion?  Passion (n):  an intense desire or enthusiasm for something; a thing arousing enthusiasm.  Enthusiasm (n): intense and eager enjoyment, interest, or approval.*  Still doesn’t really clarify.  The word passion in definition is not as strong as its connotation.  Let’s lump everything under the heading: “stories and storytelling” (that should include all the books, all the TV shows, all the writing and reading).  That’s probably my primary passion.
  • Giving or Receiving Gifts: I really like the challenge of trying to find that perfect gift, and I like imagining a friend’s reaction to it.
  • Favorite City: Because it was home, probably Roanoke, VA
  • Favorite TV Shows: (I’d better limit myself to five…) Avatar: The Last Airbender, Sherlock, Arthur, Firefly, and Phineas and Ferb

Five Things About Myself:

  1. I really dislike the horror genre (sorry, H. J.  I’m sure your works are fantastic!), mostly because my imagination is too good and such “silly” horrors as the novel Frankenstein and M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village made me feel like monsters were watching me from the shadows for weeks.  (This was at most eight years ago and as little as six years ago.)
  2. I am an extrovert.
  3. I feel like I’ve been leaving pieces of my heart in locations all across the world: Roanoke, VA, Lokrum, Croatia, London, England….  Wales somehow stole a piece through the pages of books (particularly Susan Cooper’s The Dark Is Rising Sequence, but also T. A. Barron’s Lost Years of Merlin.  By the time I read Stephen R. Lawhead’s Hood, it was already lost).  I’ve never been, but I very much want to go.
  4. Retail therapy is only effective for me when am shopping for books.
  5. I also think that stepping into a bookstore (even the one in which I work) physically relaxes me whether I leave with books or not.

My Nominations:

  1. Emily at More Than One Page has given me many blogging challenges that have been very fulfilling to complete, including the Name Challenge, a challenge to review e-readers, and, of course, blogging daily about my NaNoWriMo progress.  My blog is better because of her, and that makes me smile.  She’s also been a great source of support through NaNoWriMo.
  2. The consistency, persistence, easy language, slips of humor, and sheer wealth of interesting topics that Gwen of Apprentice, Never Master finds are inspiring.  Though, to be fair, that I have the fortune to know Gwen personally and understand much of what goes on beneath the surface of the words probably does help invest me in her posts.  My life is sunnier because of her.
  3. Markovich Arts is a blog that I stumbled across when it stumbled across me.  I’ve been made especially happy not only by pictures of places that I’m not likely to visit but also by the exhibit that was done on the anonymity of fences, a collection of photographs from readers (that project seems to have been removed with the latest name change); I loved the community of it.
  4. Jennifer at TurtleAndRobot.com I found when she stumbled across me as well.  I have a hard time reviewing picture books, but she doesn’t, and I like reading her reviews and then the books that she reviews when I can.
  5. Looking at the pictures on The Matilda Project brings sunshine not only in the form of distance bookshop visiting, but also because they remind me of places I’ve been in London and show me all the places that I have yet to visit in that fine city.
  6. I know Building A Door personally as well.  Bless her, she puts up with me well and definitely adds sunshine to my life.  Especially as we plan to part ways and move to different states, her blog is going to become a brighter and brighter ray, a way for me to still be touched by her sunshine.
  7. More Than ½ Mads sense of humor is always a source of sunshine.
  8. The Babbling Buzzard’s fiction is awesome!  I’m glad she’s decided to share it.
  9. The Gate In The Wood caved finally and joined us in WordPress!  That alone added sunshine to my life, but so does her fiction.
  10. Auntie Em of Adventures in Metropolis is another friend with a very good blog.  She doesn’t update often, but her updates are always worth the read, be they observations on the world, fiction, or a tasty recipe to one day try.
  11. The whole idea behind Hello is to spread sunshine.  If anyone deserves this award….

The idea behind The Sunshine Blogger Award is to pay it forward and nominate bloggers for your own award.  One of the few features of WordPress that I dislike is the pingback, which I think clutters comments when a link can almost as easily and much more neatly provide the link, but it is how WordPress suggest notifying nominees.  Also, to generate a pingback, the link must be a to a specific article when what I love about a blog is not usually a single post, but an idea, a whole.  So I’m going to leave comments for all of these bloggers notifying them of their nomination.  If you nominate bloggers of your own, be sure to notify them somehow by pingback or comment or message or owl.

*Definitions from The New Oxford American Dictionary accessed through the Apple Dictionary app.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

