Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 30: I WIN!

Standard

April 30

Today has included a lot of research into the Great Dismal Swamp and Maroon colonies.  Such research has been serving as “breaks” between writing.

april13statsgraph

A visual representation of my NaNo journey provided by CampNaNoWriMo.org.

I did it!  I passed!  I’ve won my first NaNo, my ninth being a competitor.  And now life can return to normal, if I can remember what normal felt like.  I finished with a full first draft of second book in my WIP teen high fantasy (or the third) and the beginning of the third (or fourth) written in this month alone.  Not only did I write all those words and prove it is possible to write that many in 30 days, I’m feeling more secure in the idea of cutting the first book in this series into two (hence the parentheses).

Thank you to my friends, coworkers, and cabin-mates for supporting me through this month–and of course all of you have been visiting the blog for putting up with (enjoying?) these NaNoWriMo updates.

Today’s goal: 50000!

Total word count: 50708

Day’s word count: 4493

Average daily word count for April: 1692

Death count: 2

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 34011

Daily word count towards other projects: 1262

Average daily word count for other projects: 1193

Today’s playlist: “Poetry” including Unpoken, Children of Eden, Mumford & Sons, Andrew Peterson, and Foster the People

Songs I’m singing:  “Lost in the Wilderness” from Children of Eden, “Two Nobodies in New York” from [Title of Show], Vanessa Carleton’s “Spring Street”

Cups of tea: 1 caf, 1 decaf

Sugar: 1 coconut ice

Hours spent at work: 0!  (I didn’t even ask for it off!)

Hours driving: 0!

What else distracted me: Friends, brain breaks of YouTube videos

Rewards: More YouTube videos, another piece of coconut ice, a walk in the park, and time with friends.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

I may yet write some more for NaNo or pleasure, but I’m going to go ahead and post this now.  Anything I write from now on won’t be to achieve my victory status; it will be towards the greater victory–publication!

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

