Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 16: Why Writing Is Work

Standard

April 16

I have officially entered NaNo travel journal mode.  I am recording every inch of this journey whether it’s dull or not because word count.

Also, having now had two days off in a row where I’ve done little but write, I want to take a moment to remind everyone that writing is an occupation as much as any other.  I have noticed a similar but not the same exhaustion after a full day of retail as a full day of writing.  A full day of retail is actually easier for me to recover from, possibly because I am an extrovert and in retail have been fed by the energies of others over the course of the day, possibly because the ways that I refresh myself after a full day of retail are often through the watching, reading, or writing of stories.  After a full day of writing, I have those same means at my fingers to refresh myself but because they are similar to writing, they are not as refreshing, and instead I eat, I shower, I go to sleep, maybe I take a walk outside if it’s warm.  I actually probably keep a better sleep schedule when my occupation is writing.  If writing becomes a full-time occupation or even when I have more available resources, I should find an extrovert activity to refresh me after a day’s writing.

Today’s goal: 26666

Total word count: 24340

Day’s word count: 1640

Average daily word count for April: 1521

Death count: 1

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 20166

Daily word count towards other projects: 1440

Average daily word count for other projects: 1372

Today’s playlist: A general playlist then the “poetry” playlist

Songs I’m singing: “What Do You Do with a B.A. in English?” from Avenue Q, Sara Barellies’ “Love Song,” “Getting to Know You” from The King and I, “The Stepsisters’ Lament” from Roger’s and Hammerstein’s Cinderella, “Not So Bad a Dad” from Phineas and Ferb

Cups of tea: 1 caf, 1 decaf

Sugar: 2 cookies

Hours spent at work: 0!

Hours driving: 0!

Times I’ve gone to smack some spiders and kobolds: 1

What else distracted me: Phineas and Ferb, and I’ve written one of several book reviews that I should write, and time with friends.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

