Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 15: Boys Will Be Boys

Standard

April 15

I’m rethinking tracking charms after the scene I wrote last night.  The charm of yesterday is logical per the invented rules of magic (and provides a nice opportunity for my boys to remind everyone of their age) but unbreakable.  That could be problematic.  But the scene’s a lot of fun to write, so I’m just letting it run its course for now.

I have two characters who are magically bound to one another.  I’m not sure if I want that to mean that they can communicate over long distances or not.

Now I’m calling it quits because sleep sounds good.

Today’s goal: 25000

Total word count: 22700   

Day’s word count: 2841

Average daily word count for April: 1513

Death count: 1

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 18726

Daily word count towards other projects: 780

Average daily word count for other projects: 1368

Today’s playlist: I’m back on that “poetry” playlist in this morning, then a general shuffle.  As I try to write a romantic rendezvous, I’ve switched over to a playlist of love songs.

Songs I’m singing: “Siúil A Rún,” Sara Barellies’ “Love Song,” “Whiskey in the Jar,” “Run Away with Me” from The Unauthorized Autobiography of Samantha Brown, “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Mis

Cups of tea: 1 caf, 1 decaf, 2 mint, 1 hot water with lemon and honey

Sugar: 2 cookies, and can stress/celebration of “all clears” not count?  Plus 1 Starburst.

Hours spent at work: 0!

Hours driving: 0!

Times I’ve gone to smack some skeletons: 0!

What else distracted me: Slow start to the morning, peppered with Phineas and Ferb, last night’s blog posts, and a reminder from a friend that there is more Thrones to watch.  I also was distracted by the online comic, Mike: Bookseller.  Then Thrones happened, and so did a commentary.  The real world that shouldn’t be is a distraction.  We might have bought a copy of Merlin series 5 on DVD.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

