Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 9: Say It with Me: “Necromancy is Bad”

Standard

April 9

Today is one of those interesting schedules.  I was up at 5:30 AM and out of the house by 6:30 AM.  Those who know me will know that I am a lifelong night owl.

This blog is soon to play host to a new project (assuming that I can complete that project by my deadline).  I won’t give you any clues yet, but I think you’ll like it.  I spent the earliest bit of this morning working on that project because it was less likely to make my shoulders and headache than my NaNo novel right now.

Now, gentle reader, for your patience with me, I’d like to reward you with an excerpt:

He shut his eyes.  He couldn’t watch.  With his eyes shut, the world seemed to fall away.  He was alone in a dark and endless void.  He could hear only his own ragged breaths and the stuttering beat of his heart.

“Veil.”  The whisper came from a long way off.  “Veil.”

When Veil opened his eyes, the world swum.

Then he felt again Keagan’s hand on his wrist.  Warm.  Alive.  As Priscilla was not.  Roderick had lowered her to the floor.  Her face was gray as her hair.  Her eyes were shut.  Her mouth was frozen open.

Then he spun, and the room spun with him, and he found Warren.  “You did this.”  The words were a growl from deep within him.  Veil tore himself from Keagan, and his fingers closed around the hilt of the dagger.  It had never felt so natural.  It had never felt so good.

If you have any thoughts on this excerpt, I’d love to hear them.

Total word count: 13402

Day’s word count: 1450

Average daily word count for April: 1489

Death count: 1

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 10315

Daily word count towards other projects: 1483

Average daily word count for other projects: 1345

Songs that I’ve been singing: Pink’s “Just Give Me a Reason,” “A Ring of Stones” from Children of Eden, “This Is the End” from A Very Potter Senior Year, “Getting to Know You” from The King and I, “The Stepsisters’ Lament” from Rogers’ and Hammerstein’s Cinderella.

Cups of caffeine: 2 of tea, 1 latte

Sugar: 1 Reese’s cup, 1 bowl of party cake ice cream

Hours spent at work: 6.5

Hours driving: 2

Times I’ve gone to smack some spiders, skeletons, and kobolds: 0 but I did go to replenish my supplies

What else distracted me: iTunes released the remainder of the final season of Merlin.  I can has Win! and Destination Win!?  Today was the first truly nice day of which I’ve seen daylight since the Winter began (the windows are all open even though it’s full dark, and I’m in shorts!).  I think I just spent 1 hour on the phone and/or story planning while pacing around the house’s exterior.  My sister then requested my presence on Skype, but glitches kept our conversation short.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

