Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 7: One Week In

Standard

April 7

There is something really invigorating about writing and reading these Camp NaNo blog posts.  First off, there’s the sense of community, which has always been a huge part of NaNoWriMo.  These blogs are reminders that there are others who are suffering through not only Camp NaNo, but also the larger life journey, trying to balance passionate writing with everything else that needs to be done, with all the distractions and relaxation.  Through comments, we’ve also been supporting one another.

Separately, I have found myself being far more conscious of the amount of sugar and tea I consume.  I know it’s NaNo fuel, but this would be a great way to diet—if I ever had any desire to do so.  After all, if you’re going to expose you’re bad habits to the Internet and be honest about it, you’re going to begin to avoid those bad habits.

A character of mine is being held as ransom… and is serving her captors tea.

This scene is giving me some troubles.  I wrote part of it before work.  On the way to work I decided that it seemed that she had to die.  At work, I started working towards her death.  I got home, opened up the Word doc that I had been working on and decided I preferred the original scene to the handwritten one I did on my breaks at work.  I may still work to try to merge the two, because there is something… very plot-driving about her potential death, but not tonight.

My NaNo-ing friends say that I can count the 275 handwritten words towards my word count, whichever way, however.

Total word count: 11031

Day’s word count: 1356

Average daily word count for April: 1576

Death count: 0 precariously

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 7222

Daily word count towards other projects: 1771

Average daily word count for other projects: 1287

Songs that I’ve been singing: “Pieces of Eight” from Children of Eden, “Think of Me” from Phantom of the Opera, “Seasons of Love” from Rent, “A Ring of Stones” from Children of Eden, Taylor Swift’s “We Are Never Getting Back Together.”

Cups of tea: 1 caf, 1 decaf, 1 roobios

Sugar: 2 Starbursts

Hours spent at work: 5.5

Hours driving: 1

Times I’ve gone to smack some spiders, skeletons, and kobolds: 0!

What else distracted me: The morning started with some book reviews (posted on Goodreads) and a commentary for Robin HoodALL the commentaries for Robin Hood.  I was simultaneously watching along for two of them.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

