Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 6: Reporting from the BN Café

Standard

April 6

I’m starting out the morning with 4 hours in Barnes & Noble’s café, where I have ready access to characters, books, coffee, Internet, and inspiration.  Let’s hope that does something for my word count.  So much stimulation can also be a ready distraction, (I would guess) particularly for an extrovert like myself.

Thoughts from the BN café:

I just think that I need to report that the people at the table next to me are discussing a fire—while my characters are trying to put one out.  This seems divine intervention, the inspiration that I needed handed to me.  Alas, it was a short conversation.  Back to work.

Cyclical arguments are the death of my plot, but they sure are good for NaNo word count.

One of my villains (he is more specifically a very visible henchman with an overinflated sense of his own importance) has a plan.  He isn’t sharing.  It’s very difficult to write his dialogue without knowing his mind.

Is your plot sagging?  Here’s a way to boost it:  What would your character exchange the world to keep (or to gain)?  Take it (or offer it).  Ta-da!  Plot!

My manager says I can write during lunch, but I cannot twirl my mustache.

Total word count: 9675

Day’s word count: 1701

Average daily word count for April: 1613

Death count: 0!

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 5451

Daily word count towards other projects: 1307

Average daily word count for other projects: 1207

Songs that I’ve been singing around the house (or Barnes & Noble): “All About Ruprecht” from Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, Pink’s “Just Give me a Reason,” Fun’s “Carry On.”

Cups of tea: 3

Sugar: 2 jellybeans

Hours spent at work: 8

Hours driving: 1

Times I’ve gone to smack some spiders, skeletons, and kobolds: 0!

What else distracted me: Nothing really.  🙂

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

