Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 5: And Then the Fire Nation Attacked

Standard

April 5

Today’s blog post is apparently sponsored (not really) by Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Today I considered setting fire to my protagonist’s home village for plot and felt like this:

Azula's_blue_flames

But then as the council seemed to be finding in favor of my protagonist and securing his sanctuary instead of chasing him away from it as I’d wanted them to for plot, I felt more like this:

Ozai_in_prison

So I wanted to retaliate like this:

Burning_Earth_Kingdom

So I did this:

Damaged_Kyoshi_village

Ooh! My writerly impulses want to crush my protagonist—because after all, it can and does always get worse—but lines must be drawn, mustn’t they, when the worst would end the plot.

In other news, isn’t it great when you have a question about your novel, and while cleaning, discover that you’ve already started to work out an answer?  I found a map that lists some of the necessary professions for an all but self-sustaining village and where those professionals would live.

Total word count: 7974

Day’s word count: 3257

Average daily word count for April: 1595

Death count: 0, but a close scrape with smoke inhalation.

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 4144

Daily word count towards other projects: 994

Average daily word count for other projects: 1187

Today’s musical playlist: The soundtrack for Movin’ Out, Clannad, Pogo (a YouTube channel that remixes movie soundbites), Taylor Swift, and the soundtrack for Spamalot.  Mae, VeggieTales, Marc Gunn, Lee Ann Womack, and Miranda Lambert… Adele, the soundtrack for Jekyll & Hyde: A Gothic Musical Thriller, and Broadway’s HairsprayGlee’s soundtrack… The soundtracks for Evita and Into the Woods, Union Station, Queen, and the soundtrack for Jekyll & Hyde again….

Songs I’ve been singing around the house: “Always Dance” from A Very Potter Senior Year, “Queen of Mars” from Phineas and Ferb, Taylor Swift’s “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” and “22,” “The World Has Gone Insane” from Jekyll & Hyde, “Savages (Reprise)” from Pocahontas, “Schadenfreude” and “What Do You Do with a B.A. in English?” from Avenue Q, Adele’s “Set Fire to the Rain,” “Moments in the Woods” and “Giants in the Sky” from Into the Woods.

Cups of tea: 1 caf, 1 decaf

Sugar: 4 cookies and a jellybean

Hours spent at work: 0!

Hours driving: 0!

Times I’ve gone to smack some spiders, skeletons, and kobolds: 1

What else distracted me: I just can’t keep away from Phineas and Ferb.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

