Challenge: Camp NaNo: Day 3

Standard

April 3

I didn’t expect today to be worth anything after a night of broken sleep, an early alarm, and an early shift.  But, lo!  Today, my NaNo count surpasses my count on other projects!

NaNo is not the time for odd bits of research, but I like accuracy, so I looked up soundbites of birdsong to determine which of the calls of several species best sounds like the babble of human voices.  Yes, that’s the sort of detail some writers will put into their work.

Nor is it the time to carefully create new characters.  I got to a scene to discover I had four empty slots on my council of seven.  I filled one with an available character whom I like for his insouciance and awesome flute playing.  I had to ask friends for inspiration for the names for the remaining three.  They need surnames still.  Two of them are named George (Sior and Yegor).

NaNo is the time to let your characters run uncensored.  Today I had to redirect a character’s dialogue away from suicide and to running away instead.

I wrote a lot for other “projects” today, but some of those words were from three separate Facebook conversations about characters, so while not strictly NaNo words (and I didn’t count them as such), they were useful words nonetheless.  Apart from deciding at least temporary names for three new characters, I discussed my protagonists’ sleeping habits.

Total word count: 3987

Day’s word count: 2781

Average daily word count for April: 1329

Death count: 0

Total word count towards other projects (including this project, Facebook messages, cover letters, etc.): 3778

Daily word count towards other projects: 1989

Average daily word count for other projects: 1259

Today’s musical playlist: Starting out the morning with Holy Musical B@man!  Darby O’Gill, the Broadway Phantom of the Opera, Parachute, The Mountain Goats, and Miranda Lambert.  Chris Rice, Celtic Women, The Afters, Taylor Swift, the soundtrack for Children of Eden.  I began again with Children of Eden then got sucked into the world and spit back out by a friendly interruption to Andrew Peterson, Brad Paisley, Churchill, and Newsboys.

Cups of tea: 4

Sugar: 3 bite-sized chocolate pieces, and a few jellybeans

Hours spent at work: 4

Hours driving: 2.5

Times I’ve gone to smack some spiders, skeletons, and kobolds: 1

What else distracted me: Another episode of Phineas and Ferb.  I am currently trying to see if I can listen to/watch an episode of BBC’s Robin Hood to keep up with a friend’s commentary and write simultaneously.  The answer is… so-so.  Also, I lost track of midnight, so for tonight alone, a NaNo day ends when I go to bed.

Other campers: Apprentice, Never MasterMore Than One Page

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

