Faculty reads… for your future reference

Standard

Time for another update from me, but what do I talk about?

Classes are over, assignments are all in, grades are coming back and going onto HIS (which Hollins women will understand and to all others, I’m sorry, I don’t know really how to explain it; some online… something).  Things are looking bright.  I have free time.  I can spend it as I wish.  Directly following classes, it was devoted to a faculty reading and then a very long party with the writers’ living room.  I got back to the room around 12:30 Thursday morning.

So let’s talk about books from Hollins’ faculty to keep an eye out for, since most of what was read were WIPs or things that will be coming soon (I hope I’m allowed to talk about those….  My theory is that no one is going to mind if I possibly garner them more readers…  😉 ).

Picture books (or illustrated storybooks):

  • Walking Home to Rosie Lee by A. LaFaye: This is a beautiful story.  Alexandria read it to us in class and I was not the only one tearing.  It is the story of a freed slave boy searching for his Momma.  This one’s available August 1.  And yes, I bought a copy already.
  • Baby Bear Sees Blue and Baby Bear Counts One by Ashley Wolff: They’re just cute and the illustrations are beautiful.

Novels:

  • The Army of Cursed Frogs by Lisa Rowe Fraustino:  Gwen, this one is here for you.  I didn’t get much of a drift from the short section she read.  Seems well written, I definitely felt for her character.  Dialectic dialogue.
  • The Freedom Maze by Delia Sherman:  A girl is sent back in time and mistaken for a slave by her own family.
  • The Secret Society of Pork Rinds and Poison Ivy by Candace Ransom: This sounds like a fun book about family drama after Grandma’s death, very much from a child’s perspective.
  • The Christmas Cup by Nancy Patterson.  Already out.  This, she said, she wrote in Jeanne Larsen’s class.  A creative nonfiction piece about how she came to love words–or that’s what she read to us (I think that might be a snippet, not the overarching plot).
  • The Privilege of the Sword by Ellen Kushner: a fantasy piece about a girl who learns to sword fight against tradition.  Already out.

Critical works:

  • Brian Attebery’s working on a new, intriguing book about fantasy.

Plays:

  • After Math by Jon Dorf: What happens to the boy who disappears after math class.  Some intriguing monologued theories are what we had read to us.  I especially liked one of them.

All the readers were really fantastic, with great stage presences.  Amanda Cockrell also read, but I missed writing down what she read, and C. W. (Chip) Sullivan read a work not headed toward publication soon.

Of other note:  I started reading Delia Sherman’s Changeling (that one should arrive at my house soon) and Delia and Ellen Kushner’s The Fall of the Kings.  I’m enjoying both.  I bought the sequel to Changeling too.

After the reading, we went for one last party in the Swannanoa “living room,” where we mostly just talked, though we did eventually turn our attention to writing as Ellen wanted us to do.  I’m going to miss these nights of relaxing and talking with writers.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

