Harry Potter and the Attack of the Threads

Standard

It’s most odd.  I keep dreaming myself into Anne McCaffrey’s world.  The first time it was a fight between F’lar and Eragon over the position of Weyrleader.  That was the morning after I’d spent the day reading Dragonflight; I wasn’t terribly surprised.  But the second time, I’d not even been thinking about the book consciously.  I dreamed myself into a relationship with a dragon that I was supposed to use, in addition to flaming arrows, to defend a castle-like Hollins campus against some invasive plant species.  Unlike Threads, it was plant, not fungus, and it did not come from the sky, but spread like any ordinary flower.  I don’t know what it’s nefarious purpose was, unless it was an allergen.  Dragonflight was not, I didn’t think, a particularly life-changing book, but maybe I’m supposed to be working in a similar vein?  Why won’t my brain let it go?

Really, it seems that my life over these past few days has been devoted to–surprise, surprise–homework and plotting times and means of transportation to Harry Potter 7.2.  Oh my gosh, friends, it all ends here!  The current plan is Grandin at midnight with one of the Children’s Lit groups, then with Erin Friday afternoon.  Then, of course, with you all in CT later.  So… much… Potter….  A few hours of sleep will likely be all that separates my first 2 viewings….

And yes, I caught a few minutes of the live broadcast from the London premier and I watched the highlights clips afterward (which altogether was probably all of 6 or 7 minutes, so I don’t feel badly about that).

I dare not miss a midnight showing because I’m afraid I may need to write about it.  Oh.  I got a job.  🙂  Or I think I got a job.  Following a link from PotterCon 2012, I found their sponsor, Wizarding Life Network, and on the top of their page was a link advertising for writers and editors.  I said, “Why not?” and applied to be an editor.  I got an email the other day from the owner saying congratulations on being chosen as a writer.  So… not an editor, not the experience that could get me to a copyeditor position or an editorial assistantship, but what fun will it be to make up news articles in the character of one of the wizards living in J. K. Rowling’s fantasy!  If things do start getting published and/or when I’m more sure of what I’m doing, I will let you know.  Only problem is that I’m pretty sure that this job can’t pay….

I mentioned that I have a group with which I think I am going to see HP7.2.  I’ve been invited to join several groups.  Today, actually, I began to feel like I’m finally starting to make connections, maybe even friends.  I hope this is a persistent feeling.

We had an email-based discussion of the German satire of didactic children’s picture books, Strewwelpeter by Heinrich Hoffman, and you know, while it was insane to try and keep up with so many emails and responses and responses to responses, it was a really good discussion in which all of our ideas were heard, in which we got to interact, albeit not face-to-face, on a more one-on-one level.

This is short, but every time I start something new….

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

