Things that have happened pre-grad school

Standard

Hello, all.  Sorry for the hiatus in posts.

Let’s see… things that have happened pre-grad school….

I dropped in on Papa Newell for a little bit.  Really, a little bit.  Like 15 minutes.  He seems all right.  But for those who don’t know, he’s retiring.  If you want to keep in touch with him, you should email him.  But the emails the teachers had when we were in high school are not theirs any longer.  Message me and I’ll get the correct address to you.

I have a new cousin!  Ian Michael, the second boy of his family name, relieving the pressure to marry and have children from his older brother.  I think this is a good thing.  That’s a lot to ride on a young boy’s shoulders.  Not that I think he’d yet realized that pressure was on him.  Pictures have been coming in and like all babies he’s very cute.  His half-brother and -sister, my blood-related cousins, seem excited.  They put up identical facebook statuses about getting to hold him.  He was born late Friday the 17th.

We went out to a family dinner (our family, then our aunt and uncle, grandma, and grandpa) while our new aunt (she just married my uncle within the last year) was still in labor.  So we were all clutching our cell phones a bit I think, waiting to hear.  It was a long labor, poor woman.

My sister graduated high school!  Now, not to steal again from the Gwelsey, but Gwen is right: High school graduations are WAY different than ours.  Of course, there are boys.  They were allowed to decorate their mortarboards and they threw them into the air, along with lots of other things: bubbles, inflatable dolphins and crabs and beach balls….  The principal did the reading off of the names and I think they had their hands shaken by… you know, I don’t even know who that was.  Our university’s VPAA read the names and the president shook our hands, which is lovely when she’s been your friend for 4 years.  There were a lot more speeches, it seemed, by the students, or maybe it’s that there was no real graduation speaker like we had.  The president of the class spoke and made announcements, the salutatorian rapped, the valedictorian gave a funny speech….  There was a lot of focus on friendship and community and finally making it out even though no one thought that they would (apparently this class has had a reputation of goofing off a bit).  I watched all four of my daughters (well, actually I missed Erin) and my sister walk across the stage.  And I saw Alli, my sister’s mother, again!  It’s been too long, 2… no… 3 Christmases ago….

(You’ll have to forgive my use of exclamation points.  These seem like important events so I’m giving them emphasis.  😉  )

I left from graduation to come to Roanoke, just my dad and I.  We drove down to Allentown, where we spent the night.  I was pretty excited about the view out of our hotel window of the headquarters for the Girl Scout Council of Eastern Pennsylvania.  It just seemed fitting.  I can’t say it was the best sleeping night ever, though.  Loud, clunking air conditioner.

From Allentown we drove to Roanoke and spent the day moving in.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

