I play with technology and visit people

Standard

I’ve been pretty awful about being timely with these posts, haven’t I?  Sorry.

It’s been a while since I’ve actually talked to you about June.

Let’s see… what’s been going on?

I’ve been having all kinds of trials with technology.  Round about Friday a giant storm came sweeping through our county, with a possible tornado in the next town over, really quite near our house.  Trees were downed all over the place, sometimes three per a yard.  About a third of the town was without power and I’m not 100% sure everyone has it back yet.  Our yard was very thankfully missed.  No downed trees and the power remained on.  Since then, though, our cell phones have been occasionally dropping service, so if you’ve called and I’ve not gotten back to you, I may never have gotten the call.

In addition to that, someone has invented a Mac virus.  Meg, the family computer, caught it.  It comes up as a warning that other viri have been found on the computer and that we need to install the antivirus software that has just been automatically downloaded onto our computer.  We let it run for a while before we realized what it was.  Now we know.  I spent a few hours disinfecting Meg using the instructions from the Apple website.  It was a really well-constructed virus.  I felt really accomplished when I was done and so far -knocks on wood- no damage seems to be done.

Yesterday too I got a new computer!  A 13-inch MacBook Pro with 320 GB of hard-drive space!  Talk about upgrade.  That being said, one of today’s projects will be to try and get it in working order, to work on getting all Leigh-Anne’s information onto… the new girl.  I’ve managed Skype and Flash and gotten all (I think) of my iTunes music into this version of iTunes.  That was a project.  iTunes kept freezing if I tried to download too much at once and then I found a bunch of music missing and had to go on the hunt.  As I type, Office is downloading some “critical” update.

Otherwise, I’ve finally been able to get to see people!

I spent an afternoon with Ms. Sheeran, mostly talking over who we’ve heard from and who we  haven’t, but also a bit of whatever might be coming after Big Girl Day.

Sunday night Erin, Rachel, Nicole, and I actually discovered O’Connors Public House.  There is an Irish pub in our small town!  It was a fun little place with cosy booths, decorations of bottles and knick-knacks in a sort of Appleby’s fashion, and good food.  I ended up with cider and bangers and mash, which–alas!–were not as good as any English pub fare, but still not bad.  We spent our time talking about everything!  Gossip, Harry Potter made his usual appearance, Twilight, The Brave Little Toaster, Merlin, all the movies that are coming out and all the ones we’ve seen with college friends, fanfiction.  I love these girls!  It’s never as if we’ve ever left one another… except that there’s much more to talk about than if we’d seen one another everyday.

Rini and I got together yesterday to make cookie dough and watch High School Musical.  We talked a bit about job opportunities, but mostly just relaxed with one another.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

