The end of May (on June 12) and film rambles

Standard

Several quick things first:

After talking to Gwen and Amy about the previous blog post (on Gwen’s wall), I think I have been challenged to do another evaluation of large families based on movies and I will take suggestions.  So far Cheaper by the Dozen and Yours, Mine, and Ours have been mentioned.  There’s also Nanny McPhee.  When I will get the time and motivation to rewatch these movies I do not know, so don’t expect a post soon, though already I can comment on this if I look at just those three:  Only Cheaper by the Dozen represents a whole and never broken family and even that focuses on a time (based on the summary from IMDB) when the father is trying to control the family while the mother is away.  Interesting….  A difference between large family representations in film and literature?  Can anyone think of a film that represents two parents trying to raise a family of more than 5?  I suppose there’s Cheaper by the Dozen 2.

On a separate note, odd days don’t seem to be working for me, so start looking for new posts on even days.  Maybe that’ll work.

Well, I suppose now I can catch you all up on life, since life has been happening and my blog posts have been lost in fiction.

May 29: I finally got home.

May 30: I spent most of the day battling the boxes.  I started by getting books onto shelves and then started arranging jewelry cases, pictures, and ducks.  Then, for some reason, I dived under my window seat where I keep… really anything that doesn’t have another place.  I cleaned out binders of AP notes.  I was surprised how much of the Art History notes I seemed to have internalized.  I found a box of SAT vocab. cards from middle school.  I found but kept the 69 pages of Cassandra Clare’s Draco Veritas that one of us used the high school printers to obtain, which traveled between us, and which I must have been last to receive.  I also found the notebook of philosophical rambles that Papa Newell made us keep.  Do any of you remember those?  I’d used that same notebook as a yearbook later, so spent some time turning the pages and remembering people I’d not thought of in a long while.  It made me smile.  I also found an old digital camera.  It spent the day charging and–ta da!–still works.  I decided to keep that around too.  I’d forgotten how heavy and clunky cameras used to be!

May 31: Sarah was here.  We ate a healthy lunch of frozen pizza and dino nuggets, then watched Lord of the Rings: Return of the King.  After dinner, Karen, Sarah, and I decided Bruster’s sounded too good to resist and drove out to the next town over for ice cream.  I have to say, girls’ nights out are just fun.  We watched a raccoon pick through the garbage while we ate outside.  And how better to finish all that than with Disney?  I didn’t notice how ironic it was to watch Robin Hood after Return of the King till later.  Both are stories of kings returning from war.  Sarah spent the night on my floor, so it felt like a sleepover, though we did actually sleep.

There.  That’s May done.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

