In which I mostly talk about May

Standard

I have been a sleepy kitten all day long and have not done much today–except take a really long, unintentional nap.  Isn’t summer beautiful?  I suppose I should take advantage while I can.

I went back to church for the first time since getting home this morning.  It was really good to be back where I’m known, to get and give hugs, to get and give congratulations.  Christian, who is 4 I think, and I didn’t think recognized me, today batted me as I passed him, so that I would turn and wave to him.  I didn’t realize how much I was missing having a church family around me.  Veil wouldn’t shut up in church though.  He seems to like to be there.

Karen and I went out shopping Saturday.  I really do like spending time with my sister and I now own pants again and shorts, which I’ve not had since middle school we don’t think.  We also went on a raid of Walmart’s $5 movie bin and came home with $20 worth of DVDs.  So that was that evening gone to the Wizard of Ha’s, the VeggieTales’ telling of the Prodigal Son, and Stardust.

I’m afraid there really isn’t anything more to tell about the last 2 days.

Because I’m tired, I’ll keep filling you in on May and get to film and book reviews later.

May 24: I got to meet Lacey’s parents when we met them at Shaker’s for dinner.  They are fantastic people who are just so easy to be around. This has been a week of meeting people’s families and being so glad to have done so.  I hope you all realize how blessed you are.  I love knowing that there are so many good people in this world.

May 25: Lacey and I went out to see Jane Eyre at Grandin, which we’d been wanting to do forever, then ended the evening with a late-night IHOP run.

May 26: I went to Laura’s bachelorette party dressed as a princess in blue. We made crowns and sang Mad Libbed Disney songs. We put on a fashion show (Laura awarded me “bravest princess” because I’d just graduated) and played with the big golden retriever that lived at the house that we borrowed for the party. It was so fantastic to be back with these amazing girls: Megan, Tori, Leslie, Caroline, and of course Laura! And to meet a few more amazing women (Katie and Rachel). Laura has been blessed to know and be loved by good people.

May 28: Laura became Mrs. B–! It was the first wedding I’ve been old enough to remember.  The only other that I’ve been to was my uncle’s first and I spent the time picking dandelions and chasing minnows.  Laura and Nathan’s was a particularly Godly one (not at all surprising if you know the couple). I was so grateful to be there to see them move together into their new life. The place was beautiful, the ceremony was beautiful, and I got to reconnect with so many fantastic people who had left my life almost entirely. We danced in a circle to the live music of the Elmer Coles Funktet. We talked for hours. We made a plan: Someone of our acquaintance must get married every year so that we can all reunite.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

