Job applications are too tiring. Let’s just read fantasy.

Standard

It’s an odd day so time for post 2.

Yesterday was my sister’s last chorus concert in her high school career.  The seniors all had their goodbye solos and sang their senior song together.  There was so much cheering and support among the graduating class that it felt like our graduation all over again and I missed you all.  The chorus sang beautifully and kept my foot tapping.  I’m glad I got to go.

Other news: I started again.  I began working on the second half of my thesis and began to feel pregnant all over again.

I also began the process of job applications.  I applied to be a copy editor for Radford University and a copy editor for the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in Arkansas.  Applying for jobs is exhausting.  I’ve been feeling pretty drained since.  I am trying to figure out ways to calculate the cost of living since some jobs ask for a desired salary.  I found this website (you can get any city or town by just changing the city and state in the URL).  I’m still trying to figure it out, but it might be useful.

I’m afraid those two applications were the end of my productivity.  I finished a book for fun instead: Andrew Peterson’s On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness.  I think I’m going to wait on writing a review for you.  I want to process it first.  Then I started back on the pile of schoolbooks, but those ought to be mostly fun.  I think Ursula K. LeGuin’s A Wizard of Earthsea will be first.  Well, actually, I’ve been dipping into my picture book stack, but really I haven’t much to say about those yet.  I’ve read:

  • The Paper Bag Princess by Robert N. Munsch
  • The Dragon Prince by Laurence Yep
  • The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams

So now to fill you in on the beginning of the summer:

May 22: You all left me. I spent the night watching Much Ado About Nothing with Emily, Sarah, and Karen. We ordered pizza, but just missed Goodfella’s hours. We thought we’d order delivery, but we did not. Sarah drove out in a horrendous thunderstorm to rescue our pizza from the clutches of its store (I forget whence we did order. Yes, I can use ‘whence’ properly! Thank you, Franko!). Then, I packed.

May 23: I fell sick Monday morning. Mom, Dad, Karen, Emily, and Sarah were absolute dears and finished most of the packing while taking care of me. Emily left. After I crawled downstairs and everyone else left, Sarah helped me finish up. I ended up having to throw much in the dumpsters, but there were dumpster-divers there to make me feel as if it might not actually be wasted. Checked out, Sarah then took me to Lacey’s, where I spent a VERY restful week, sleeping in, home alone, and mostly reading. I finished three books for class:

  • The Giggler Treatment by Roddy Doyle
  • The Secret Garden (though I skipped the articles at the back)
  • The People Who Could Fly by Virginia Hamilton (this one’s a picture book!)

I also watched 17 Again, which, yes, was better than I expected.  I actually enjoyed it, but mostly for his Elvish-speaking friend.

I’ll add more days in later.

About Kathryn

My love of books has been carefully cultivated by the adults who raised me and also by the friends who love to share. My life has led me down long library shelves, to online forums, fanfiction sites, the front of a lecture hall, and into the desks of college classrooms. With an English degree and a couple master’s classes in Children’s Literature, I am now a bookseller for Barnes & Noble. I have been an editor for Wizarding Life Networks (the people who brought you Wizarding Life, Panem October, and MyHogwarts now HogwartsIsHere).

Leave a Reply

